Skip to content

Because I’m happy

May 6, 2014

 

100 happy days (76-100)

My 100 happy days finished over Easter weekend (so I’m only two weeks late posting this!).  The final 25 days saw spring arrive in full force, plenty of time with family and friends, some stunning skies, some terrible weather, some brilliant breakfasts, and the start of what will hopefully be a summer of many ice creams!

I’ve already written about the joy of doing 100 happy days, and how it has helped me in my efforts to look on the bright side.  I honestly can’t recommend it enough, and it’s been so lovely to see other friends picking it up during my 100 days.  It’s also lovely to look back over the past 100 days, from the dark depths of January to a sparkly, sunny Easter weekend.

Speaking of Easter (and in a seamless segue), I promised you a  hot cross cupcake recipe, so here it is!

Hot Cross Cupcakes (recipe from Twigg studios)

1.  Melt 175g unsalted butter and allow to cool a little.  Add the melted butter to a bowl with 3 large eggs, beaten, and 100 ml buttermilk (I just added some white wine vinegar to some normal milk and let it sit for a few minutes).  Add zest of 1 orange and mix it all together.

2.  In another bowl sift 175g self raising flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 175g light brown sugar, 2 tsp mixed spice and 70g ground almonds and mix.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix well.

3.  Fold in 100g dried mixed fruit (I used sultanas, raisins and mixed peel but you could do something much more exciting) and divide the mixture between 12 muffin cases.  Bake at 180 c for 18-20 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.

4.  Once the cupcakes have cooled, make the topping.  Mix 60g cream cheese, 20g butter, softened, and 60g icing sugar until smooth.  Pipe crosses on top of the cupcakes (ideally using something like this, which makes it so much easier and less messy!).

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2014 11:35 am

    I really enjoyed your happy days photos on instagram – they really brightened my days and are one of the things that inspired me to give it a go too. I might have to come back for the cupcake recipe next year too.

    • May 8, 2014 11:27 am

      I meant to say in the post, these would work at non-Eastery times of year too! You could pipe the icing on in a spiral, or leave it out altogether, and just have some nice fruity, spicy cupcakes.

  2. Inge permalink
    May 10, 2014 11:09 am

    I was thinking about doing that challenge, then decided to look on the bright side without the challenge, which was silly of course, because the challenge would’ve made it much easier! It was nice seeing yours on instagram, they helped me remember to at least try ;)

    • May 26, 2014 2:28 pm

      The challenge definitely gave some focus to my general intention to be more positive. Happy to have acted as a reminder for you!

  3. May 10, 2014 4:07 pm

    I’ve so enjoyed your Happy Days photos but I’m glad that you’re still posting pics of lots of lovely things, especially those jelly shoes!

    • May 26, 2014 2:29 pm

      Ha ha – hope I’m not overdoing it with the jelly pics, I just love them so much!

  4. May 21, 2014 2:57 pm

    Such a great idea 100 Happy Days. We should all continue this effort everyday :) Thanks for the cupcake recipe

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

