Skip to content

Girls and Grandmas

March 19, 2014
tags:

Grandma's house

Last weekend I visited my sister, and on the Saturday we had a girls’ day out to see our Grandma (and my niece’s Great Grandma).  I love that we all have multiple roles as our family expands: my big sister is now a daughter, granddaughter, mummy and auntie too.  I also love Grandma’s home, and being there with my niece doing all the things we used to do when we were four.  Grandma still lives in the house where she birthed her children and lost her husband and although she no longer cooks on the built in stove in the kitchen (it used to back on to the coal fire in the living room, which has now been replaced with a more practical sort for a lady in her nineties), the house still seems the same to me as it always has.  Full of big, bold patterns and so many pictures, faces of children and grandchildren and great grandchildren among the knick-knacks and musical boxes and crochet blankets and copies of the People’s Friend.  The living room is always cosy, but your bottom almost freezes to the toilet seat when you go to the loo.  There always seem to be flowers blooming in the garden, along with the old greenhouse and a shed bursting with stuff, my dad’s domain now.  Every corner of the house too seems full to bursting, with treasures crammed in everywhere.  I guess when you live so much life in one place you accumulate a lot of stuff to accompany the memories.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2014 12:17 pm

    I love your grandma’s bread/cake tin! My grandparents’ houses are filled with family photos and all the sort of things you mentioned here too. My great gran had a polystyrene cover on her toilet seat so it was never cold! She also had a doll with a dress that covered a toilet roll, another grandparent staple :)

    • March 19, 2014 12:21 pm

      Oh yes, my Grandma has one of those toilet roll dolls too! Why do people think they are a good idea??

  2. katieleigh permalink
    March 19, 2014 2:54 pm

    Love that photo of your niece and grandma! This post reminds me of my grandma’s house – also full of stuff because she lived there for so long. Lovely.

  3. March 23, 2014 9:54 am

    This is just lovely. I was going to write more but it was essentially repeating that with reference to lots of the little bits in the post. All lovely.

Trackbacks

  1. On the sunny side of the street | domestikated

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

