Skip to content

Happiness is here again

March 9, 2014

100 happy days (26-50)

I’m over halfway through my 100 happy days now, and I’m enjoying it so much I might do 200 days!  Keeping track of happy things every day is encouraging me to notice the little things, the bright spots in dull days, as well as celebrating the big things, and I love that I’m making a record of it all together.  Days 26 to 50 have seen spring start to emerge with longer days and cheery flowers, fun with friends and a family filled weekend, and some birthday treats.  And that last picture in the bottom corner is evidence of my resolve to be less passive with pinterest, as well as shake up my meal planning.  I’m trying to make more of the recipes that I pin, and this one was a big hit.

Creamy cauliflower sauce (recipe from pinch of yum)

1.  Saute 8 large garlic cloves, minced, in a little butter.  Cook until the garlic is soft and fragrant but not burned as this will taste bitter.  Or, if you’re lazy like me, just squeeze some garlic puree from a tube into the mixture in step 3.

2.  Cut a medium cauliflower into small florets (about 6 cups) and put in a large pan.  Add 6-7 cups vegetable stock or water and bring to the boil, then simmer for 7-10 minutes until the cauliflower is tender.

3.  Use a slotted spoon to transfer the cauliflower florets to a blender (or large bowl if you’re using a stick blender), reserving the cooking liquid.  Add 1 cup of the stock or water to the cauliflower along with the garlic, 1/2 cup milk and some salt and pepper.  Blend until you have a lovely smooth sauce; you might want to add a wee bit of olive oil to help with this, and you can add more of the cooking liquid as required.

You should have made a nice smooth creamy white sauce; you can add parmesan or seasoning to taste.  We had some with linguine, sundried tomatoes and crispy bacon one night, and made creamy cauliflower garlic rice with spinach the next.  This sauce has definitely made it on to our regular recipes list!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2014 6:13 pm

    I’m really enjoying it too, and seeing yours! It makes me think about what I can post every day. Recipe sounds good too

    • March 10, 2014 11:48 am

      Yeah I like seeing everyone else’s on instagram too!

  2. March 23, 2014 9:52 am

    I love this – am hoping to start it soon when I can commit to something (hopefully next week!)

    • March 25, 2014 1:17 pm

      Yay, join in! Glad you’re enjoying it – been a bit worried it’s really self-indulgent, but I am getting a lot out of it too.

  3. April 5, 2014 8:18 am

    I made that sauce, and tried to use it instead of bechamel (which I’d heard you could), and while it was delicious and creamy it also separated in the baking, and lots of water ran out. This put me of, which made me sad because I was intending to use it on EVERYTHING.

    • April 6, 2014 1:49 pm

      Ah I can’t imagine it responding well to being baked! It works very well just cooked in a pan though :)

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

