Skip to content

Snap happy birthday

February 25, 2014

camera cake carving

Canon camera cake

Canon camera cake

Canon camera cake

It was my boyfriend’s birthday yesterday so of course I made him a cake; a birthday without cake is no birthday at all!  His Canon enthusiasm and our planned trip to the Camera Obscura inspired this one (along with a suggestion from a friend, who is bound to complain if I don’t mention that it was her idea – hi Jennifer!).  I figured black icing wouldn’t be too appealing with sponge cake so made my new favourite chocolate celebration cake recipe from Lindy Smith, and crumb coated it with chocolate fudge icing before getting busy with the fondant.  I also quickly realised it would be kind of tricky to cover it all in fondant in one go, so hastily detached the lens and covered that separately.  I reckon it added to the authenticity anyway!  Once the fondant was all done it was just a case of trying not to cover the boyfriend’s actual camera in icing sugar (and trying to keep my hand steady) as I replicated the controls with edible paint.  I’m so proud of the result it was quite a wrench to cut into it – not that the birthday boy seemed to mind!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2014 10:08 pm

    Oh wow! That is one amazing cake!

  2. February 26, 2014 1:09 pm

    That is one AMAZING cake.

  3. February 26, 2014 3:52 pm

    Wow, you’d outdone yourself! This cake is fantastic!

    • February 27, 2014 12:50 pm

      Thank you – not sure what I’m going to do for next year now!

  4. February 26, 2014 9:42 pm

    No way, that is truly crazy amazing! I just wish my hubby liked cake (he’s weird) so i could make him one too! x

  5. February 27, 2014 7:56 am

    Wow I love this! Brilliant idea and execution :)

    • February 27, 2014 12:51 pm

      Thanks! Not my idea (and there are loads on pinterest!) but the execution is all mine :)

  6. February 27, 2014 10:08 am

    This is so amazing Kate! Can’t believe how professional it looks, he must have been chuffed :)

  7. February 28, 2014 7:14 am

    That is such an awesome cake! You are so very talented!

  8. March 1, 2014 8:37 pm

    That is AWESOME Kate! Thats a very lucky guy……..

    • March 10, 2014 11:50 am

      Thanks Chris! Of course, you thought he was lucky even before the cake, right? :D

  9. March 3, 2014 9:39 am

    That is one amazing cake x

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

