Skip to content

Best of friends

February 17, 2014

peanut butter and jelly blondies

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time you’ll know how much I love peanut butter.  I got an ice cream maker for the sole purpose of recreating the peanut butter ice cream I had in New York.  I’m nutty for Nutter Butters.  Reese’s peanut butter cups are pretty much my idea of heaven.  Any friends travelling to the US are charged with restocking my supply of peanut butter M&Ms.  I can eat the stuff smeared on a cracker, or an apple, or just a spoon.  I really, really love peanut butter.  

We also all know that I love baking, and that peanut butter and jam are the best of friends, so how could I possibly resist these peanut butter and jam blondies?  More plus points for this recipe include being surprisingly effortless, looking a bit special, and keeping well (if given the chance).  Make some, you know you want to!

Peanut butter and jam blondies (recipe from Averie Cooks)

1.  Melt 110g butter (1/2 cup) in the microwave, then add 1/4 cup peanut butter and soften by microwaving for another 30ish seconds.  Stir together until smooth then add 1 cup packed light brown sugar and mix until well combined.  Add 1 large egg and 2 tsp vanilla extract and mix again.

2.  Add 1 1/4 cups plain flour and 1/4 tsp salt and stir until just combined, being careful not to over mix.  Pour the batter into an 8 inch square tin, lined with baking parchment. 

3.  Dollop another 1/3 cup peanut butter on top of the batter, then do the same with 1/3 cup jam (I used strawberry).  Using a knife, marble the peanut butter and jam over the top of the mixture until nice and swirly.  It’s easy to overdo it and end up with a mush, so watch out.

4.  Bake at 175 C for 22-27 minutes until the centre is set and the edges pull away from the side of the tin.  Cool in the tin for 45 minutes before slicing and serving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2014 1:39 pm

    Oh, hello.
    These look incredible!

    I also recently aquired (stole off my mum) an icecream maker, but am yet to use it, having picked it up in November. Excited about the thought of peanut butter ice cream now!

  2. February 23, 2014 8:47 pm

    It looks delicious! I want to try this recipe as soon as!!!

    • February 27, 2014 12:49 pm

      Thank you! And it’s handy that I usually have all of these ingredients in my store cupboard – hopefully you do too!

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

