Skip to content

Christmas creativity

January 4, 2014

Christmas instagrams

I had a fairly creative Christmas this year, making gifts for my family as usual, and other bits and bobs to adorn the house, and the dinner table.  The blog may have been quiet lately but I’ve been instagramming like crazy over the holidays!  Not sure what I’ll have to photograph now the decorations are down and the gifts are given, but I’m sure I’ll find something.  In the meantime here is a selection of my Christmas makes, all slightly fuzzy thanks to phone photos and instagram filters.

I made breakfast hampers for my family, and forgot to take any photos but this one, while hastily wrapping my sister’s hamper the night before the last posting day for Christmas.  I was really pleased with how these turned out!  I made this apple, cinnamon and ginger jam (I’m not a confident jam maker but this recipe was easy and tasty), this muffin mix (with jumbo raisins and cranberries to make it more Christmassy), cranberry, almond and honey granola from Nigella Christmas, and I popped in some morning tea bags too.

Another home made gift was Harry Potter Monopoly, a free printable job which involved an old Monopoly set and a lot of printing, cutting and sticking.  It is a lot of fun to play though; somehow it’s much more fun to buy the Quidditch Pitch than Park Lane!  If you fancy making your own, you can get all the printables here.  I had a friend with photoshop help me to cut the board and box images in half so I could print them on A3 paper.

We were responsible for dessert on Christmas day and this was one of the offerings: a Bailey’s chocolate cheesecake, with chocolate ganache and festive white chocolate piping.  Really tasty but really rich, so I recommend making this when you are feeding a crowd!

Finally, I couldn’t resist another shot of our festive fireplace, which has been making the place feel so cosy throughout December.  Links for the printable advent calendar and fabric stockings are in my last post.  I’m not quite sure what to do with it now we’ve taken the decorations down!  The star lamp has stayed, and we chopped up the trunk of the Christmas tree to replace the baubles, but it still seems a bit bare.  Any suggestions are welcome!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2014 6:14 pm

    So many lovely things. I’m sure that all the recipients were delighted with their gifts. All the posts in the last few days have got me all excited about Christmas 2014 and all the things I could make. Then I remember we still have about 10 months to go until you can really start to think about it. Groan!
    Happy New Year! x

    • January 4, 2014 6:39 pm

      Aw thank you! That’s where Pinterest comes in handy, to save up all the good ideas!

  2. katieleigh permalink
    January 4, 2014 10:34 pm

    That Harry Potter Monopoly set is AMAZING. I love it!

  3. January 6, 2014 9:56 am

    That packaging is beautiful! And I have major Harry Potter Monopoly envy.

    I am starting to get inspired for xmas next year – hence recently joining Pinterest. I’ve gone from not really being bothered about chrimbo to pinning everything remotely makeable! Might have to pinch some of your present ideas :-)

    • January 9, 2014 2:36 pm

      Pinch away! And we can totally have a monopoly night if you like!

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

