Skip to content

I’ll be home for Christmas

December 10, 2013

Edinburgh's Christmas

Edinburgh's Christmas

Edinburgh's Christmas

Edinburgh's Christmas

Edinburgh's Christmas

I love Christmas in Edinburgh; the city certainly scrubs up well!  There have been some big changes to the Christmas markets this year though, and not all for the better.  But it is still cheery and sparkly, and I can never pass up the chance to have some mulled cider.  I can’t say the same for the star flyer, the terrifyingly tall chair-o-planes in St Andrew’s Square.  The double decker carousel is much more my style!  I would also highly recommend the marshmallowy things pictured above, sort of like fancy Tunnock’s teacakes in various flavours.  Amaretto was my pick, and the boyfriend went for After Eight.  Delicious but messy!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan Barrie permalink
    December 11, 2013 7:58 am

    When we popped by Edinburgh a few weeks ago we only managed to make it to the markets in Princes Street. Have to say that I didn’t notice many changes ( apart from the change in venue for the ice rink) – maybe that was the gluwein talking! We also didn’t go on the star flyer – way too tall!

    • December 25, 2013 7:51 am

      I know, it’s too scary! The market just feels more branded this year, everything’s got the same logo stuck on it … Still festive and fun though!

  2. Anne permalink
    December 15, 2013 11:08 am

    I would love that star flyer! X

  3. December 17, 2013 1:14 pm

    Gorgeous photos!

  4. December 18, 2013 9:26 pm

    I love these photos. I am looking forward to lots of Christmases in Edinburgh!

  5. December 19, 2013 2:12 pm

    absolutely gorgeous!

  6. December 20, 2013 12:06 pm

    I miss Edinburgh sooo much :( I went there last summer and I hope I can go back there soon… It’s so beautiful with all this xmas things!
    P.S. After Eight wins everything, is my fave too! :D

    • December 25, 2013 7:49 am

      Ha you would get on with my boyfriend then! I’m not a huge fan of mint. I do love Edinburgh though, sometimes I feel so lucky to live here.

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

