Skip to content

Of flights and friends

January 21, 2012

In the style of Neil Diamond, I’m COMING TO AMERICA!  Remember that leaving party I threw for my clever friend who was off to Princeton for a year?  Well, I’m going to visit her in – let me count – 6 weeks and 4 days!  AND I’m meeting up with my favourite bloggy friend for a few days in New York while I’m over there!  I’ve been planning the trip for a while but finally confirmed all the details and booked my flights this week.  I don’t think I could possibly be more excited!

PS.  If you have any suggestions of must sees / must dos / must eats in NYC do please share!  At the moment I have this vague excited vision of wandering around streets I’ve seen in films and eating doughnuts, but I should probably do some actual things while I’m there too.  All recommendations will be gratefully received!

PPS.  I’m so gutted that the Muppets exhibition closes the week before I get there!  Sob.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 11:41 pm

    Oh, I just got back from New York. And we saw the Muppets exhibition! It was fabulous. So sad you won’t get to see it.

    The Met is completely amazing – so much art and culture and history – and hopefully by the time you’re there it will be warm enough to stroll Central Park. The Strand, near Union Square, is fantastic – 18 miles of books! And Alice’s Tea Cup is a must-do brunch or afternoon tea spot. (Check out my latest 2 blog posts for all my recs!)

  2. January 23, 2012 5:30 pm

    Central Park! I’ve only spent one day in NY, and I regret not having more time there.

  3. January 24, 2012 8:54 pm

    How exciting!

    I went to New York for my honeymoon & it was amazing. Just like it is in the movies :)

    The Empire State building was fab; touristy, yes, but fab all the same. You have to get a hot dog when you walk around Central Park!

  4. Christine H. permalink
    January 25, 2012 4:48 pm

    OH MY GOSH, THAT IS ME!!! I am so excited. I think I have told everyone I know that I am meeting up with you in NYC. And look! Katie also loves Alice’s Tea Cup—we will go there every day. Maybe. At least once for breakfast and once for lunch or a late afternoon pick-me-up. I should make a countdown clock or calendar or something. AHHHHHHH!!! Hurry up, March!

Trackbacks

  1. Dearest Darling Dickens « A Rambling Fancy

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

