Skip to content

Somewhere

March 7, 2011

Somewhere in the world of clever creative bakers someone was inspired to make a rainbow cake.  My inspiration came from here and here and although my first attempt (in celebration of my Daddy’s big birthday last week) is far from perfect, it’s definitely taught me lots (for example: double up the mixture to get thicker layers) and I’m super keen to try again!

*cue tenuous link to mention this week’s mega exciting upcoming events*

Somewhere in London my bloggy friend Christine is checking out museums, getting over jet lag and hanging out with her rock star brother for a few days before coming to stay at my house on Wednesday!!!!  Things may be quiet on the blog front this week as we’ll be busy going to a gig, sightseeing around Scotland, eating breakfast tacos and possibly polishing off rainbow cake mark 2 if I have time to make it, but I’m sure you’ll be hearing all about it next week!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 7:37 am

    Looks great! I’m attempting to make one for an upcoming event in the next few months so tips appreciated.

  2. March 8, 2011 8:15 am

    Awesome!

  3. Nettie permalink
    March 8, 2011 9:27 am

    looks brilliant……. xx

  4. March 8, 2011 9:08 pm

    Good luck! I tried to make a mixed up sort of rainbow cake by droppiung different coloured batter in the same tin, but the amount of food colouring needed made the cake too wet, though I’m sure you can get powder colourings.

  5. March 8, 2011 10:13 pm

    I saw that one recently too and put it on my pinterest board to come back to. I particularly love your one. Your colours are perfect rainbow and you have a lot less frosting than some of the others which makes it more appealing to me.
    Well done! Looks like it takes a lot of work.

  6. March 9, 2011 3:02 am

    rainbow cakes are sooo intimidating to me! but so pretty.

  7. March 16, 2011 3:12 am

    Wow, this is so pretty, I love it!

  8. March 20, 2011 6:29 pm

    After two attempts I’m afraid I’ve given up, the colours do look fab but I just can’t get the texture right. I’m sure with some more practice (and patience!) I’d get the hang of it but for now I’ve given up!

Say hello

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

